EMDI
|
Font size:        
groupe de travail gizc

Links with the strategic framework

The different regions of the Channel area are confronted with similar issues of coastal management. Research in recent years has demonstrated that integrated coastal zone management (ICZM) is an effective way of addressing problems that result from increasing pressures and conflicts of use within the coastal zone. Moreover, the Recommendation of the European Parliament and the Council 30 May 2002 has given a new impetus to this approach, which has to be implemented by each Member State. ICZM is therefore one of the main axis of the Channel strategic framework. The working group will analyse the various uses of the coastal and maritime areas of the Channel, their impact on the environment and their interrelations. It will recommend coastal and maritime management measures which could possibly be included in the Channel strategic framework. A particular attention will be paid to the effects of maritime pollution, to operation of off-shore windmills building, the extraction of building materials, to the laying of underwater cables, the use of dredging waste, which illustrate the interactions between the various issues of the Channel area.

Links will be established with the NWE INTERREG IIIB SAIL II project. The Nord-Pas-de-Calais Region who co-ordinates the ICZM working group is also a partner in the SAIL II project and will be in position to ensure complementarities and synergies between both projects.

This theme will be developed by the ICZM working group, incorporating the environment and coastal departments of the Channel local authorities, coastal bodies such as Conservatoire de lEspace Littoral in France, and other interested stakeholders. This working group will be co-ordinated by Nord-Pas-de-Calais region.

Actions

  • Identification of Coastal Issues and definition of a joint approach to activities/ uses along the coastline. Beyond this project, this work will contribute to the work planned at a national and European level for implementing the Recommendation of the European Parliament and the Council of 30 May 2002.
  • Production of Coastal Management Frameworks based on the analysis of various activities/uses and their impacts. Analysis of the effects of oil production according to the coastal morphology, the type of pollution, the tides and the streams. Analysis of the effects of off-shore windmills on maritime and air safety, on the maritime fauna and flora, on the movements of sediments and on coastal erosion. Analysis of the effects of the extraction of building materials on the seabed (movement of sediments and morphology), on maritime safety (above all for fishing), on the maritime fauna and flora and on fishing. Analysis of the effects of dredging waste from the ports on the marine fauna and flora, etc. Considering the diversity of the Channel coastline, the method and results should be transferable to other North-West European coastal areas. This action will produce recommendations for emergency plans and management frameworks based on contractual approach according to the type of coastline.
ICZM working group

EMDI
|
Taille des caractères:        
groupe de travail gizc

Lien avec le cadre stratégique

Les différentes régions de l'espace Manche sont confrontées à des problèmes similaires en matière de gestion des zones côtières. Au cours de ces dernières années, la recherche a montré que la gestion intégrée des zones côtières (GIZC) permettait de traiter efficacement les problèmes nés des pressions croissantes et des conflits d'usages sur les littoraux. En outre, la recommandation du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 30 mai 2002 a donné un nouvel élan à cette approche, que chaque Etat-membre doit mettre en œuvre. C'est pourquoi la GIZC est un des axes majeurs du cadre stratégique de l'espace Manche. Le groupe de travail analysera les différents usages des zones côtières et maritimes de la Manche, leurs impacts sur l'environnement et leurs interrelations. Celui-ci fera des préconisations de mesures de gestion maritime et côtière qui pourront éventuellement être intégrées dans le cadre stratégique de l'espace Manche. Une attention particulière sera portée aux effets de la pollution en mer, à la construction d'éoliennes off-shore, à l'extraction de matériaux de construction, à la pose de câbles sous-marins, à l'utilisation des déchets de dragage, qui illustrent les interrelations entre les différents problèmes affectant l'espace Manche.

Des liens seront établis avec le projet SAIL II développé dans INTERREG IIIB ENO. La Région Nord-Pas-de-Calais, qui pilote le groupe de travail GIZC, est également partenaire du projet SAIL II. Elle est donc en mesure d'assurer des complémentarités et des synergies entre les deux projets.

Ce thème sera conduit par le groupe de travail sur la GIZC, qui rassemblera les services Environnement et Littoral des collectivités locales de la Manche, des organismes tels que le Conservatoire de l'Espace Littoral en France, et d'autres acteurs intéressés. Ce groupe de travail sera piloté par la Région Nord-Pas-de-Calais.

Actions

  • Identification des enjeux littoraux et définition d'une approche conjointe des activités/usages des zones côtières. Au-delà de ce projet, ces travaux contribueront à ceux prévus au niveau national et européen pour la mise en œuvre de la Recommandation du Parlement Européen et du Conseil du 30 mai 2002.

  • Elaboration de schémas de gestion du littoral, fondés sur l'analyse des divers(es) activités/usages et de leurs impacts. Analyse des effets de la pollution due aux hydrocarbures selon la morphologie côtière, la nature de la pollution, les marées et les courants. Analyse des effets des éoliennes off shore sur la sécurité maritime et aérienne, la faune et la flore marines, les mouvements de sédiments et l'érosion côtière. Analyse des effets de l'extraction de matériaux de construction sur les fonds marins (mouvement de sédiments et morphologie), sur la sécurité maritime (notamment pour la pêche), la faune et la flore. Analyse des effets des câbles sous-marins sur la faune et la flore marines et sur la pêche. Analyse des impacts des déchets de dragage des ports sur la faune et la flore, etc. Compte tenu de la variété des littoraux de la Manche, la méthode et les résultats devraient être transférables à d'autres littoraux de l'Europe du Nord-Ouest. Cette action aboutira à la production de recommandations pour des plans d'urgence et des schémas de gestion reposant sur des logiques contractuelles pour chaque type de littoral.
groupe de travail gizc